The Ever Elusive Nap

Standard

Last night Sir Smiley and I decided to watch a movie together once the kids were in bed.  (Real Steel, which was a very entertaining movie by the way) I was exhausted, but Sir Smiley and I hadn’t had much alone time together so I wanted to carpe diem.  (that’s right, I threw some Latin at you)  I was thinking, “I’ll just take a nap tomorrow”.  Yes.  You read that correctly.  A nap?  Temporary insanity is all I can say to that.  Enter today and my “nap”. I put both girls down for their naps.  Then I turn to King Toot.  He wanted none of that.  I tried rocking him.  I tried playing with him.  He looked tired, acted tired, rubbed his eyes, but did not want to miss a thing.  I finally bounce him to sleep and then tip toe to my bed.  Then comes Sasquatch from the bathroom, “Mommy!”. “Mommy, I pooped!  Can you come wipe me?!”. *sigh. So off I go to help my oldest daughter clean herself.  Then back to bed.  Then a telemarketer calls.  If they had been physically in the room with me, a gruesome scene would have occurred because King Toot added to the rings with his own sounds… mainly crying and yelling.  So back to square one.  I finally manage to get him back to sleep, but again, he only sleeps for about 15 minutes. I start to give up hope as I go to get him.  But as I walk into view, he falls back asleep. Of course.  Hope, the torturer of all mothers, sprang back to life as I headed back to bed.  Only to be brutally killed by the sound of Urpling’s door opening.  She comes out of the room well rested and ready to play.   End scene.

Leave a Reply

