Are You Happy?

Standard

Sasquatch comes up to me often and tells me she loves me and every single time she follows with the question, “Are you happy?” This is super-adorable except those times she asks me and I’m really NOT happy. Not wanting to lie I usually launch into an explanation about why I’m not exactly happy. I found the question mildly irritating at those times, but I have come to notice something: she pays careful attention to my answers. She is truly interested in how I’m feeling. It got me thinking about my own conversations with others. What a simple direct question that cuts right to the root of someone’s life. We usually ask each other, “How are you doing?” and usually get a fairly generic response (I’m fine, I’m good, I’m tired). But to ask someone if they’re happy has one of two answers, that will inevitably be followed by a why or why not. Not only is it a great question, but how often do we actually listen to the other person’s answer? Talk about convicting. So, are you happy?

Leave a Reply

