They’re magically delicious…

Standard

My children have magical powers. Magical powers of self preservation. They drive me right to the brink and then they do something so sweet, so adorable, that I am in love with them all over again. Yesterday is an excellent example. I was heading to the Y to do water aerobics (don’t laugh, it’s way harder than it sounds and those little old ladies have spunk!). As I try to get Sasquatch dressed, she throws an absolute fit because I put her shorts on wrong. What the right way is, I don’t know. But she was kicking, screaming and hitting because this. Three time outs and a spanking later she finally let’s me put her shoes on and off we go. Urpling then throws a fit in the parking lot for making her hold my hand. Right in front of a lot of people. Not embarrassing or anything. I hadn’t slept well the night before, so I was already tired and now to say I was cranky would be an understatement. When we get to the door I turn around to check on the girls. Here they come, walking down the sidewalk, holding hands. It was the most precious thing I have ever seen! My heart melted and all was forgotten.
Fast forward to the end of the day. Sasquatch, who I may need to nickname L’il Miss ‘Tude, was arguing with me over how to put the toys away, pushing Urpling, and then refusing to brush her teeth. But again, right as I’m about to really lose it, she turns on the charm. She pets my hair and tells me how pretty my hair is, gives me a big hug, tells me I’m very nice, and then finishes me off by looking into my eyes and saying, “I love you Mommy!”. She then picks up “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” and reads it to me, word for word. So now not only have I been buttered up with flattery, I am pretty sure I’m raising a genius, so all hard feelings are gone. How can you stay mad at an adorable genius? It’s just not possible. Like I said, magical powers of survival,

Leave a Reply

