Get me to the church on time…

Standard

My favorite blog ladies ever, Rants from Mommyland, has a term they use for getting kids out the door. It’s called turtle herding. Such a perfect name. So tonight I have a wedding to go to. It should be fun, with lots of faces I haven’t seen in a long time and I am looking forward to it….once I actually get there. But first, I have to get all three small ones presentable (not just shopping for a few things ready, where they can wear whatever mismatched shorts and shirts they want, but wedding ready). They actually need to be fairly clean, hair brushed, and preferably without remnants of lunch on their face. Then I need to load them up with enough supplies to keep them busy AND quiet, bottles, burp clothes, spare clothes, etc. I will be doing all of this without Sir Smiley’s help as he has to work. *deep sigh. Also what typically happens is I get so focused on making the kids presentable I forget about myself and the realize later that I forgot to brush my hair or teeth, or my dress is inside out (true story unfortunately). At least this time I’m in my own house so I don’t have to worry about the poop fiasco like last time. (my poor good natured mother in law could tell you about that one, but that will have to be a post for another time). I will attempt to do all this and still be on time.

So direct your eyes to the center ring, as this mother attempts the impossible. Three kids and herself, dressed, clean, and on time for their friends’ wedding. I know, ladies and gentlemen, a feat rarely attempted and even more rarely accomplished. Will she make it? Only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

