Testing, testing, 1, 2, 3

Standard

I taught first grade for three years and have three kids. I am no stranger to how kids like to test their boundaries. But some stages seem to be worse than others. Sasquatch has now reached a new phase of testing me…I like to call it the snarky stage. No matter what I say or do, she has some snarky comment to make. I made dinner tonight with cake for dessert (and homemade frosting from a recipe my MIL generously shared with me) and the first thing she says when she gets to the table and sees all the food is, “I need toast. This is not enough food.” If I tell them all the fun things we’re doing that day, she immediately tells me how they’re happening in the wrong order or with the wrong people. I tell her she needs to take a bite of chicken (on not the molecule sized nibble she just took) she glares and says, “I DID take a bit mom!”. She looks so sweet (I had a picture of King Toot….I figured it would only be fair to add on of each of the girls too. Don’t worry, Urpling will have her day too!) and acts so kind to everyone else. I swear I am not making it up! I know that she’s just testing her new boundaries, but it doesn’t keep me from wanting to do violence to a pillow every night so I can maintain a (semi) calm demeanor when confronting all these comments. At least King Toot doesn’t talk back….yet.

My darling, snarky daughter whom I love to death:

Leave a Reply

