Thanksgiving: The day I am least thankful

Standard

I must confess, every year I attempt to keep a thankful heart during Thanksgiving. But I am often thwarted at every turn…this year being no exception. For a day set aside to be Thankful…it usually seems to be just the opposite. So I have decided to take the string of fiascos this year and put them in a new perspective.

I am thankful for my vacuum. Even when the bag blows off and it explodes dust and dog hair and nastiness all over the floor…twice…when I just want to head to bed. I am thankful it was not broken permanently and I was able to get everything cleaned up. Oh, and I am thankful that I even have a house to clean in the first place.

I am thankful for the turkey. Even though it refused to thaw, broke the oven bag causing us to frantically run to the store to buy another one (technically two stores as the first one was out). I have a turkey to eat and that’s pretty awesome.

I am thankful for my mom. My mom who pulls the turkey out and helps me salvage the disaster as she points out I had been baking it upside down. That after flipping the darn bird over and seeing the gray and wilted looking meat, immediately asked for butter and manages to turn the soggy skin into a nice, crispy, golden brown…transforming a bird that looks like it has some kind of bizarre skin disease into something worth feasting on.

I am thankful for my family who waited an extra ninety minutes for the turkey to be done with good humor and grace. Because apparently when you cook a turkey upside down it doesn’t cook very well. But we still all had fun hanging out and no one complained. I am truly lucky to have a family like that.

I am thankful for my husband who weathered the frantic wife, swept and mopped the floors and is at this moment attempting to read “Where the Sidewalk Ends” to our two girls and screaming son.

I am thankful for my health, that I was able to race in a sprint triathlon and still have energy to have fun with my family afterwards.

I am thankful for my kids. Even though King Toot spent much of it yelling for no reason in particular he also took three steps on his own today…in a row. That moment is priceless. Sasquatch and Urpling were both cranky and at points had to be put on time out. But having tickle-fests are also priceless and am so grateful to be able to experience these moments with them.

I am thankful I have pants, even though someone always poops or pees or spills or drools on them within three hours of them being laundered. But I have pants that actually fit and protect my skin from said poop and pee and spills and drool. That too is pretty awesome.

I am thankful for pie…for obvious reasons. Especially pie with ice cream.

So all in all, I am thankful that despite all the bumps and almost-disasters… I had a tasty meal, in a safe place, surrounded by loved ones who are all in good health. Life is sweet.

Leave a Reply

