We should try praying…

Standard

No slow build up on this one, no catchy titles, no witty remarks to lead in to this post…I’m just gonna cut right to the chase. This is a call to prayer. This is my response to all that happened Friday. There has been so much…stuff…swirling around the Internet and social media. Arguments over gun control, mental health and services, health care, the list goes on and on. People are distraught and angry (as they should be) and it is exploding towards all the wrong people. As though tearing to shreds that commenter on some Facebook post will make it all better.
I have been absorbing all these arguments and of course instantly start trying to form my opinions. But as usual my approach sucks. I take my political stances and then try to meld them into a cohesive argument to win the other side. Yeah…like I said…it sucks. But when I really got honest with myself I discovered something. This whole experience wounds me. Those beautiful children, the age of my oldest, are not returning to their families. But not just that, it’s the routine of it. These kids weren’t at some large, well publicized event. They were just going to school. I’m angry that anyone could look into the face of an innocent child and pull the trigger. I’m filled with sorrow for those parents. I’m confused about what would cause someone to do this. Most importantly, I can’t think of any law or lack thereof that will fix this. Because there is something wrong deep down in the heart and soul of a person that would do this. What law can fix a broken soul? How is President Obama, or the congress, or the senate going to look into the population of all Americans and know when someone is so far gone that they will do something like this. The answer is, they can’t.
So I’m left feeling helpless. I like to have all the answers. Have my nice and neat little responses to whatever political, theological, parenting, or other issue that may come up. But here I have none. But I can start with one thing and that’s seeking the heart of the one who does. I need to hit my knees first. So here it is, my request. Before we start arguing over what to do or how to fix it, we actually take some time and truly talk to God. By truly I mean honestly. No more putting up a fake front. God sees right through that. He’s God. But honestly speak to Him about what’s going on in your heart and mind. The thoughts swirling around, the confusion, the anger. If you’re pissed at him…tell him. He’s God, He can take it. If you’re hurting, tell Him. Tell every deep dark thought in your head. And when you’re done…listen. We get so caught up in rushing around it’s hard to sit still. But actually take some time to sit quietly and listen. Read the Bible and see what it says.
Today I read Psalm 199:1-32 and I heard Him. I heard Him speak about what happens when we follow his laws. The results were: blessings, prevents shame, prevents sin, revives and strengthens. To follow His laws I need to rejoice in them, meditate on them, speak of them, remember them, choose them, and cling to them. So that’s my first step. Before yelling about gun laws or mental illness I am seeking Him who sees it all. I hope you will join me.

One thought on “We should try praying…

Leave a Reply

