I’m addicted to love…and other stuff Part 1

Standard

Something happened this past Tuesday. Well, a lot of things happened this past Tuesday. I had a surprise birthday party for Sir Smiley, my sister-in-law came to visit, and we lost our Internet. Not just temporarily either. I mean, someone totally creamed the junction box for our neighborhood, and it took over three days of constant work for them to return my precious Internet to me. This made me realize something. I am addicted to the Internet. Since I didn’t have the Internet, I spent copious amounts of time pondering how I am addicted to a lot of things. So this will actually probably be a series of various things I am may or may not (but probably may) be addicted to. I also may throw in some stories about the surprise party and the joys of tripping over a cactus with your heel. But for now we’ll stick to the addictions. (My withdrawal is so bad my brain is still all over the place!)

First I thought I should be all intellectual sounding and define addiction…or at least the symptoms of addiction. Like withdrawal. Withdrawal, as defined on some semi-legit sounding website, happens when the person does not take the substance or engage in the activity, and they experience unpleasant symptoms, which are often the opposite of the effects of the addictive behavior. So, lets say when you do have the Internet you’re calm and cool…but when you don’t have Internet for three days you’re suddenly irritable with people, frazzled and unfocused, or even hallucinating and talking in your sleep. (well…not hallucinating per se…but maybe you freak out late at night when your husband wakes you up as he comes to bed because you’re certain he’s some stranger. So certain that without actually waking up you sit up and turn on the light looking around.) This might be a sign of addiction.

Difficulty cutting down or controlling the addictive behavior. Yeah…I only went three days and that took a car accident aimed perfectly at the one metal box controlling everything in our neighborhood. Even though it was only three days, I immediately logged onto Facebook and sucked in those vague status updates, random pictures of animals, and quirky Internet memes like they were liquid crack.

Social, occupational or recreational activities becoming more focused around the addiction, and important social and occupational roles being jeopardized. We don’t have cable…we use Netflix. No Netlfix without Internet. My events are scheduled on Facebook and so I had no idea what I was doing. I couldn’t even blog! All my downtime activities were online. Talk about depressing. I think I spent hours playing Ticket to Ride as it was my only game that wasn’t online.

So there’s your proof. I am addicted to the Internet.

2 thoughts on “I’m addicted to love…and other stuff Part 1

Leave a Reply

