I’m addicted to love…and other stuff Part 3

Standard

So, like 10 years ago, (or something like that) I started a series…more like a trilogy…of sorts on things I’m addicted to…food, the Internet, etc. (See the first post here and second post here) Well I figured I should wrap it up with my final addiction…speeding. I am definitely addicted to speed…not the drug…the actual movement. I like to drive fast. Like actually doesn’t begin to describe it. I think it starts off innocently enough. There are a few situations that occur that start you down the spiraling path of speeding.
Situation 1: Your driving along, and you come up on someone going just a smidgen slower than you. You know the situation…you’re slowly passing them but it seems to be taking up the best years of your life just to get around the person. So you speed up…and then don’t slow down.
Situation 2: You go to pass someone who is going significantly slower than you, but as you pass them they seem to take personal offense to this and speed up…drastically. From previous experience you just know if you maintain your speed and go behind them, they will slow back down. And usually in a place where you won’t be able to pass them. So you speed up to get around them, and then maintain that higher speed so that they won’t pass you and get in front of you again.
Situation 3: You’re running late. Simple as that. So you speed up hoping to magically create five minutes that weren’t there when you left the house (or in my case…20 minutes).

No matter the cause, once you start speeding it’s hard to stop. It’s an addiction. Like previous posts…I’m going to list some symptoms of addiction that show just how true this is.

Tolerance: the need to engage in the addictive behavior more and more to get the desired effect. After one of the above situations occurs, you begin to start driving at that speed routinely, you acclimate to it. Then when one of those situations happens again…you end up going even faster…and so on and so forth.

Withdrawal:happens when the person does not take the substance or engage in the activity, and they experience unpleasant symptoms, which are often the opposite of the effects of the addictive behavior. I become irrationally angry when something prevents me from going fast. Some idiot is cruising around, taking a casual Sunday drive in the left lane, maintaining the exact same speed as the person next to them. I seriously envision either telling him off (which is mild) or gently easing onto his bumper and “helping” him pass the other person. Because heaven forbid I actually drive the speed limit for a few minutes (or hours, as it may feel like).

Difficulty cutting down or controlling the addictive behavior. Yeah, I’ve tried daring myself to make it a day driving the speed limit and have yet to win that one. Even if I’m not running late, even if I want the kids to nap in the car and they actually fall asleep…I still speed.

Extreme mood changes – happy, sad, excited, anxious, etc. I could be having a great day, the sun is shining, the kids are happy, good tunes playing on the radio. But one guy pulls out in front of me and then drives slow and that all is shot. I suddenly am raging, irate that they would dare do that to me! Then I’ll calm down and the world is fine.

Case closed, speeding is addictive. It is an area of my life I think needs the most work, and the most humbleness. I like to call vehicles ego-boosters. Because so much of what makes me upset or angry while driving is because of what that person did to ME. I become a very selfish person behind the wheel. Something I need to work on.

Leave a Reply

